JSS 56

Jena Spaceborne Scanner

The Jena Spaceborne Scanner JSS is the latest multi-spectral imager used on micro-satellite missions.

The RapidEye satellite system is composed of five identical earth observation satellites, and each of them is equipped with one multi-spectral imager from Jena-Optronik as the heart of the platform.

Covering the Earth’s surface continuously line-by-line (pushbroom principle) the imager of Jena-Optronik enables the precise data acquisition of an approximately 80 kilometres wide strip of land with a pixel size of 6.5 metres out of 630 kilometres. Working in five spectral channels, covering the wavelength range from visible to near infrared and will provide pin sharp multi-spectral and high resolution images. The formation of the satellite system enables a constant global coverage and therefore up-to-date information on a daily basis. Due to the high repetition rate the gained data provide important information in the field of environmental monitoring, landscape architecture or disaster management.

Beyond that there is going to be an increased commercial benefit for potential end users such as agricultural insurers, who need to forecast or report damages, institutions such as the EU, companies which trade in agricultural commodities and farm corporations that rely on precision crop management.

Jena-Optronik successfully continues its activities in the field of Earth observation instruments with a Jena Spaceborne Scanner for a SSTL-150 satellite platform by Surrey Satellite Technology Ltd. within the Kazakhstan ERS-MRES Project.

New images for the data archive of our planet: Satellite Sentinel-2B has sent its first views of the earth

On 7th March 2017 Sentinel-2B was launched. It is the fifth satellite for the EU ‘Copernicus’ earth observation program. Essential components of the satellite’s multi-spectral instrument (MSI) were supplied by the aerospace company Jena Optronik GmbH, based in Thuringia, and provide a new perspective of our earth.

read more

High-tech made in Jena, Germany, for the new satellite platform SmallGEO

The following feat was made possible thanks to the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and the European Space Agency (ESA): In Germany, the new satellite platform SmallGEO, which is developed in Bremen by satellite manufacturer OHB System AG, makes it possible to deliver whole satellites. Attitude control sensors by Thuringia-based space company Jena-Optronik GmbH are also included.

read more

All News-Articles

Konnichiwa, successful exhibition in Tokyo

From October, 12-15 2016 we presented us and our products on a GErman Joint booth together with DLR and OHB at the Japan Aerospace Exhibition, Tokyo

read more

Welcome!

Today’s generation requires a more in-depth knowledge of the world than the previous generation ever did. By exploring space, we are able to discover, survey and understand our home planet. On our updated website, we intend to give you an insight into the world of aerospace and the technology Jena-Optronik produces. Accompany us on our journey!

read more

All Blog-Articles

Space: It’s all around us

Space inspires us all and creates a wealth of knowledge

read more

All Knowledgeplatform-Articles

Events

  • 18.-23. July 2017
    MAKS 2017 in Moskau, Russia
  • 19.-25. June 2017
    Paris Air Show 2017 in LeBourget, Frannce
  • 29. May - 02. June 2017
    10th International ESA Conference on Guidance, Navigation & Control Systems in Salzburg, Austria

JSS 56

Multispektrale Erdbeobachtungskamera

Der Jena Spaceborne Scanner JSS ist ein modernes multispektrales Bildaufnahmegerät der Jena-Optronik, welches für Kleinsatelliten-Missionen entwickelt wurde.

Mithilfe der Kamerasysteme aus Jena etabliert das deutsche Unternehmen RapidEye AG einen Geo-Informationsservice. Eine Flotte von fünf baugleichen Satelliten, auf denen sich die Instrumente befinden, ermöglicht eine Datenabdeckung der gesamten Erde innerhalb von 48 Stunden.

Das zeilenweise und kontinuierliche Abtasten (Pushbroom-Prinzip) der Erdoberfläche ermöglicht die zielgerichtete Datenaufnahme eines ca. 80 km breiten Streifens aus 630 km Höhe und einer Auflösung von 6,5 m. Das System, bestehend aus der Kamera und den dazugehörigen Datenverarbeitungssystemen, arbeitet mit fünf Spektralkanälen und deckt damit den sichtbaren Wellenlängenbereich und das nahe Infrarot ab. Eine technologische Herausforderung für die Entwickler der Jena-Optronik war, das Kamerasystem so klein zu gestalten, dass es auf einer Kleinsatellitenplattform unterzubringen ist.

Die Daten liefern Informationen für Landwirtschaft und Kartografie. Anwender sind zum Beispiel landwirtschaftliche Versicherungsunternehmen, die Schäden prognostizieren oder ermitteln wollen, daneben Institutionen wie die EU, aber auch Agrarhändler, die an Warenterminbörsen handeln, oder landwirtschaftliche Großbetriebe, die Präzisionsanbau betreiben.

Neue Bilder für das Datenarchiv der Erde: Satellit Sentinel-2B sendet seine ersten Aufnahmen unseres Heimatplaneten

Am 07. März 2017 startete Sentinel-2B, der fünfte Satellit im Rahmen des „Copernicus“ Erdbeobachtungsprogramms der EU. Wesentliche Komponenten für das Multispektralinstrument des Satelliten kommen vom Thüringer Raumfahrtunternehmen Jena-Optronik GmbH und ermöglichen einen neuen Blick auf unsere Erde.

Weiterlesen

High-tech made in Jena für die neue Satellitenplattform SmallGEO

Mit Unterstützung der Europäischen Raumfahrtagentur (ESA) und des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ist es gelungen: In Deutschland wird mit der neuen Satellitenplattform SmallGEO, entwickelt beim Satellitenhersteller OHB System AG in Bremen, die Fähigkeit zur Lieferung kompletter Satelliten etabliert. Und mit dabei sind Lageregelungssensoren vom Thüringer Raumfahrtunternehmen Jena-Optronik GmbH.

Weiterlesen

Alle News-Beiträge

Einblick: The 40th Annual Guidance and Control Conference

Bei der GNC-Konferenz (GNC kurz für: Guidance and Control Conference) der American Astronautical Society diskutieren jedes Jahr Anfang Februar in Breckenridge in den Rocky Mountains (Colorado, USA) Ingenieure und Experten rund um das Thema Navigation und Steuerung von Satelliten sowie Raumfähren.

Weiterlesen

#25jahrejenaoptronik

Unser Geschäftsführer Dietmar Ratzsch informiert: Vor 25 Jahren am 11. November 1991 wurde der Vertrag zur Gründung der Jena-Optronik GmbH unterzeichnet.

 

Weiterlesen

Alle Blog-Beiträge

"Weltraum-Optik aus Jena - Unsichtbares sichtbar machen"

Der Mitteldeutsche Rundfunk (MDR) hat einen spannenden Beitrag zum bevorstehenden Start des Satelliten Sentinel-2B erstellt.

Weiterlesen

Noch mehr Raumfahrt für Kinder

Neben dem DLR und der ESA gibt es eine Vielzahl von kleinen, aber engagierten Initiativen, welche wir euch gern vorstellen möchten.

Weiterlesen

Alle Wissensplattform-Beiträge

Termine

  • 03.-06. April 2017
    Space Symposium, Colorado Springs, Corlorado, USA
  • 04.-05. April 2017
    DLR Bauteilkonferenz bei Jena-Optronik
  • 28.-29. März 2017
    5. nationale Konferenz zur Satellitenkommunikation in Bonn

Raumfahrer gesucht

Von Jena zum Mars.

Optische Sensoren der Jena-Optronik befähigen Satelliten, stabil und wie vorgesehen auf Kurs zu bleiben. Seit vielen Jahrzehnten ermöglichen und unterstützen wir ebenso spektakuläre wie erfolgreiche Weltraummissionen. Mit unseren international ausgezeichneten Produkten gehören wir zu den weltweit führenden Zuliefern der Raumfahrtindustrie.

Believe in (y)our potentials: Unterstützen Sie unser Team.